Now Would be the Perfect Time for a Star Trek Game

I had never seen an episode of Star Trek (fully) until after Christmas 2014. For the christmas just gone I received the two recent movies (2009’s Star Trek and 2013’s Star Trek: Into Darkness), and at once, I found a franchise I enjoyed it.

For some reason, I’ve been really enjoying older sci fi recently. In 2010, I was introduced to Doctor Who (which also needs a good game soon, but I won’t go into that today), and in 2013 I saw 2001: A Space Odyssey for the first time, after reading the books. The books are now some of my favourites, and the movie was wonderfully-crafted too. When I was a kid, I loved Gerry Anderson’s Thunderbirds, and I cannot wait until the new series this year. I enjoy Star Wars like everyone else, and I even liked the prequels (even though I haven’t seen them in a long time).

So after I watched both of the new movies (which are really good, by the way, even if the lens flare is distracting at times) I noticed that Netflix had all of the original series. So I watched the first episode. Before I realised that it was the failed pilot. I’m glad I kept watching the series after that episode (which was pretty bad).

Although I haven’t seen a lot of episodes, there’s something about Star Trek that is just so appealing. I think it’s because it plays on our ideals about exploration and then also deals with the relationships between characters on a ship in outer-space. This is why I think it’s time we had a Star Trek game.

2015/01/img_0902.jpg

The Problem with Earlier Games

There’s a problem with all the previous Star Trek games, and that is that none of them capture the exploration aspect, or at least make it fun.

2013’s Star Trek game was a poor shooter that received mediocre reviews. I never played it, but it was obviously worse than the reviews suggested it was, as it is now on Wikipedia’s Worst Games List. That’s how bad it was. It was so bad that J. J. Abrams (the director of the new Star Trek films) said he was emotionally hurt by how bad the game’s reception was. That’s how bad it was.

2013 also saw the release of Star Trek Rivals for mobile devices, which is a card game.

Last year wasn’t much better, with Star Fleet 2014 being a combat simulator (which admittedly looks like a serious simulator, but it does cost a bit for a mobile game). The other Star Trek game released last year was Star Trek: Trexels, which is supposed to be a run-of-the-mill mobile game with resource collection and whatnot. It’s free (same with Rivals) so if you like the sound of it, there’s nothing to be lost trying it.

But that’s it. And thanks to Star Trek‘s (2009) negative reception, we unfortunately won’t be seeing another Star Trek game for a while. But let’s entertain the notion.

Why Now?

The future is looking so good for space simulators, with Star Citizen slated for release in 2016, and Elite: Dangerous being released just last year.

This year, we have No Man’s Sky, which looks amazing. If you look closely, you can almost imagine it’s a one-man Star Trek mission, to explore new worlds and all that.

Sometime in the near-future, Tiny Trek will be releasing too, which isn’t shy about it’s inspiration from Star Trek. The game looks like an interactive Star Trek series, where you get to sit at the helm on your ship, and explore strange new worlds. But it never ends: like No Man’s Sky, this game is procedurally generated, so you can discover new planets comstantly. It’s in early access on Steam at the moment (you can find it here, it’s $5), but the developer promises it’ll only be there for four months, which means it’s likely to be released in April, or maybe late March if we’re lucky.

2015/01/img_0903.jpg

But What Style Would A Star Trek Game Be?

Well, here’s a few ideas:

  • Telltale’s Star Trek
  • A game like FTL: Faster Than Light, but with the Starship Enterprise
  • A game like No Man’s Sky, but on a larger ship with agressive alien encounters

I mean, all of those ideas sound pretty good. But the last one sounds especially good, and I wouldn’t mind seeing what Telltale could do with relationships in space. Even in the TV show Captain Kirk faced some extreme decisions, so it wouldn’t seem that crazy for Telltale to make a game version of it.

So, Star Trek fans, what would be your ideal game set in the universe? Or if your not a Star Trek fan, what TV show or movie do you think deserves a good game?

2 thoughts on “Now Would be the Perfect Time for a Star Trek Game

Leave a Reply

