Torture Chamber – The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past Review

Available on: Super Nintendo Entertainment System, Game Boy Advance
Reviewed on: Game Boy Advance

When it was announced that the first Zelda title on the 3DS (well, first exclusive Zelda on the 3DS) was a sequel to A Link to the Past, I decided to play the GBA remake. It’s interesting, to say the least.

It’s very difficult. I can’t stress that enough. As soon as you start playing, you’re bombarded with enemies, and you’ll die several times…This game is not for the faint of heart. I must have died fifty times in the first level, and in the end, I had to use gameshark codes. But I only used it for unlimited health, not for getting items early-on in the game. The rest of the game is your usual Zelda affair: Go into dungeons, beat a few enemies, grab some goodies, go find some bizzare items in the overworld, go to the next dungeon, etc. The main selling point of this game is that there’s a parallel world where everything in the overworld is reflected in this dark world. It’s a nice idea, but means that the location of the dungeons are all the same…

I’ve heard that this is a “classic” Zelda title, but I don’t think that it is. I think that this is only a title hardcore Zelda fans need to play. I did briefly try the game on a SNES, and it seemed much easier, but that might be because we’d done that bit of the game many times. I haven’t finished the game, because I’ve grown bored of it, but I know how it ends (I read the story online).

Pros
– Interesting ideas
– Gamplay works well

Cons
– Far too difficult
– Grows Boring
– Gameplay is too similar
– Casual players will most likely use cheats and guides

Leave a Reply

